Results 1 to 20 of 102

Thread: 2015: Any PSX programmers still out there?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's suppose to, but since I kinda just shoved it out, I didn't check all the file sizes. They have to be a multiple of 4bytes. If just one file is not divisible by 4, i believe it freezes.

  2. #2
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by isufje View Post
    It's suppose to, but since I kinda just shoved it out, I didn't check all the file sizes. They have to be a multiple of 4bytes. If just one file is not divisible by 4, i believe it freezes.
    Ah. I see.

    When you make a build that's formatted to run on a PSX proper let us know, I'd like to try it on actual hardware.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You can burn one, test it, and let me know if it loads, cause it should. It saves me 5 minutes and 15 cents (USD) if it doesn't ().

  4. #4
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by isufje View Post
    You can burn one, test it, and let me know if it loads, cause it should. It saves me 5 minutes and 15 cents (USD) if it doesn't ().
    I'll be out of town till Monday, I'll give it a try then.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Nah, you don't have to, I'll be home by 7pm (Pacific Time). I'll test it then. Also, if you want to wait, I'll be making a enemy select screen, game over screen, and some more odd stuff this weekend, maybe some code optimization (hopefully). Cause the PSX is gonna need it.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) NoahsMyBro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,144
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds cool - be sure to update the thread with the updated iso.

    Thanks, and Kudos!
    "A 'Radical Centrist' ??? Isn't that like being a Take-No-Prisoners Pussy? " - Stephen Colbert
    My Resume
    My Blog


  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    123
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've played with programming the PlayStation but haven't done anything original. What are you using? I've used Bladelib but it's limited because you can't set up interrupts.
    Take care,
    Dennis

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bizarro2011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    How are you?
    I'm Bernard, I'm from Brazil.
    I'm programming ps1 (psyq)
    send your email to send something to you.
    I have examples, tools, and many documents.
    I use emulator.
    I have some doubts.
    1 - how to animate characters and texture?
    2 - how to edit sound?
    3 - how do you attach the tmd and tim for the program?

    Bernard
    aber_35@hotmail.com
    Last edited by bizarro2011; 11-12-2011 at 06:25 AM.

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ah, Brazil... Home of the Legendary Rickson Gracie. Well anyway, thanks for the kind greeting, but you can forget the formalities, they're not necessary. I answer all your questions right here.

    1 - how to animate characters and texture?

    - There are many ways, but I use the a modified version of the standard Mime Function Library... I believe the file names are labeled MIME.c NMIME.c MIME.h NMIME.h. When I say modified, I mean hacked out all the Normal Calculation capabilities (cause I'm not using them) and only left the vertex difference information. Also there's some miss-written code in there that checks too many tmd objects. I reduced it to zero (which means 1 in PSX talk) which resolves a lot of issues. If you need these modified files (which I assume you will) I'll put them in my filefactory account and you can download them, OK.

    Now once you understand how these mime function work. Your going to need a tmd (3d model) to animate. I'm assuming you know how to make these... but just in case you don't, you'll need to use a 3d modeler program (Don't laugh, I use 3d studio r4 [DOS], been using since I was a kid ^_^) and an animation program ->Milkshape will do nicely. After that, all you need to do is make a few frames that are different from each other, just like any other animation, but these frames should be separated quite a bit apart from each other.
    For example this animation only uses only 4 individual frames, but the mime function calculates the difference and make the animation look smooth.





    2 - how to edit sound?

    - Are you serious?! This one's completely explained in the Ref Manual..., but I'll re-explain it i guess... First you need to make a sound or a have a sound, preferably in wav format 22.050 khz... then convert it to vag with Vagedit. Then compile a Vab (VH/VB) file using em with Vabtool. After you got your vab , save it as a (VH/VB) <- two separate files (I know, you can save it as one vab file, but I prefer this way instead) and now you can call each individual sound in your code with the SsUtKeyOn function.

    example
    SsUtKeyOn(VAB_ID1,1,2, 64, 0,127,127);

    VAB_ID indicates which vab
    1 indicates which program #
    2 indicates which sound
    64 indicates what note
    0 what pitch
    127 and 127 inidicate the vol left and right respectively



    3 - how do you attach the tmd and tim for the program?

    - Um, that's an easy one. Just build an ISO and include the files with it. Save em as Mode 2 form 1. Now if you want to use XA audio... that's another story I'll save for later...


    Also, If anyone's interested, I got the sucker to boot on Real Hardware and the codes optimized enough to handle, but I've been overhauling the code and game so much that I'm knee deep in source code and It doesn't appear to be shrinking anytime soon. All that means is that I'll be posting an update to this game more later than sooner... (which shouldn't be too disappointing) ((like anyone cares...))

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    -ECO2EXE
    -LIBPS
    -COMBINE

    All of these programs are only for getting Yaroze files to boot.

    How do I paste the texture on tmd?
    -with RSDTOOL of course

    which the step by step to generate the VDF?
    -step 1> Create a model (explained on page 1)
    -step 2> Animate frames (explained on page 1)
    -step 3> Use mimefilt to create VDF (if you have mime.c you have mimefilt.exe)
    -step 4> Use Mime.c to link VDF file to TMD model and animate in source code.

    If you have Ref Manuals, which i assume you do...

    Quote Originally Posted by bizarro2011 View Post
    I have examples, tools, and many documents.
    I suggest you read them. They may not be in Portuguese, but I assume you at least know a little English...

Similar Threads

  1. Programmers Aid for Atari Computers
    By jjhudson63 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 12:18 AM
  2. Atari 2600 programmers?
    By punkoffgirl in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-06-2003, 10:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •