Thread: A few questions about prototypes.

ServBot (Level 11)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default A few questions about prototypes.

It has finally happened... i have the desire to collect prototypes. It really hit home when i was trying to get some on ebay a couple days ago and lost.

Anyway here are my questions about protos, since im a newb at them.

1. What are EProms, and tkEproms (did i get that right)
    2. Are lab loaners just the games given to magazines to review?
    3. How do you dump a rom.
    4. How do distinguish a real prototype from a fake? Pictures would be appreciated.

Anything else added would be great that i would need to know. Thanks!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Re: A few questions about prototypes.

Quote Originally Posted by Balloon Fight
    It has finally happened... i have the desire to collect prototypes. It really hit home when i was trying to get some on ebay a couple days ago and lost.

Anyway here are my questions about protos, since im a newb at them.

1. What are EProms, and tkEproms (did i get that right)
    2. Are lab loaners just the games given to magazines to review?
    3. How do you dump a rom.
    4. How do distinguish a real prototype from a fake? Pictures would be appreciated.

Anything else added would be great that i would need to know. Thanks!
    EPROMs are just programmable chips that are used in protos many times because they can be used like a normal mask ROM, but they are erasable and reprogrammable with fairly cheap equipment, and fairly easily, so it's great for testing out unfinished versions on real hardware. TKEPROM's are completely different, that's the name of a board for NES that uses EPROMs.

I'm not 100% sure, but I believe that lab loaners are just like you said... final to near final version to give out to people to look over for revew.