PDA

View Full Version : Shoyuld my 5200 be smoking?



CrazyImpmon
03-04-2003, 05:34 PM
I didn't think so. I had just finished an AV mod on one of my 4 ports 5200 (I have like 3 or 4 of them, all with "*" in the serial number) and anyway on my first test I got good picture from the AV port but the smoke was coming out of the RF box on the top right side of the board. Wonder why it's doing that. I snipped the leads going from the mainboard to the silverbox (which pretty much permantly disable onboard RF) and the smoking stopped. :?

Anyone keeping an archive of the Great Unsolved Mysteries? Add this one to it.

Raedon
03-06-2003, 07:03 PM
I wouldn't leave that on overnight ;)

zektor
03-06-2003, 08:45 PM
I dunno. It sounds to me that too much voltage was passing through those wires you snipped going to the RF modulator, in turn making it smoke. Now that they are snipped, where is that extra power going?

rbudrick
03-07-2003, 01:17 PM
Sounds more to me like you crossed the ground to power when soldering. Make sure no paths are soldered together. I did this on my Aquarius once and a coid filter thingy started smoking. Found the problem, removed the excess solder, and it was good as new again.

-Rob